Republican/Caesarian Roman Testudo pt3

Pt2 here

https://tyrionhalfmanblog.wordpress.com/2018/08/17/republican-caesarian-roman-testudo-pt2/

I did two ranks in pt2 so that just left the other two ranks still to do.

I decided that there was no need to struggle to fit right arms on the middle figures of the middle ranks as you won’t see them, so started out by switching my previously made second rank to the back rank. The only difference needed with this now being the back rank was to swap the standard legionary head on the righthand model for an Optio head.

I glued the figures of my new second and third ranks, then added the shield arms in the same way as pt2. I only attached right arms to the edge figures as you see their gladius or pila tips above, below or between their shields.

Before attaching the top shields I formed up the ranks and then attached the shields to ensure a good fit over the heads infront.

I’ve included a shot next to one of my standard WIP units on individual 25mm round bases to show how compact the Testudo formation is in comparison.

That’s the build complete, now time to paint.

Leave a comment