Republican/Caesarian Roman Testudo pt1

Following a discussion on Lead Adventure Forum started by The Unlucky General I’ve finally got around to trying to make a Testudo for my Romans.

There are some great examples of kits out there for the Early Imperial period with their iconic rectangular shields, but none with the earlier scutum shields. So I realised that converting plastics was the way to go.

To that end I decided on the number and composition and have dry-fitted some of the old Wargames Factory Plastics using blu tac.

As my other units are 24 strong I wanted the same for this formation.

They are made up in 3 ranks of 6 figures, with the middle 4 on the front row with forward facing shields, the middle 4 of the other ranks with upwards facing shields and the edge figures on each base with their shields out to the sides.

Pt2 here

https://tyrionhalfmanblog.wordpress.com/2018/08/17/republican-caesarian-roman-testudo-pt2/

Leave a comment